What’s Your Story?

620d9d264ef7e9fb819a0126af5369d6

(originally posted in Dec. 2014)

Hello and welcome to my new little corner of the universe! I am happy to announce that I am the authoress of a new blog called “Silver Lining Storyteller!” I will be moving my writings from my other blog “Bee and Rose” over here very soon. In the meantime, I hope you”ll sit a spell and share a story or two or twenty with me now and again. In fact, stories are my inspiration for writing this post today.

I am a lover of stories. I love reading them, listening to them and writing them.  I love that stories come in many shapes and sizes.  They can be shared through the written word, woven in song, and played out in films. Stories are created with works of art and dancing. Some of my favorite tales are in photographs…a picture really is worth thousands of words. My kids love our photo albums…they are our family story. Instagram is a new form of “picture” storybook for many these days. In my family, even our Christmas trees are like “pop up” storybooks of our journey over the years with each of the ornaments being the characters with stories of their own.  Here are a few “characters” from our story for this year’s trees! (yes, I said trees, as in plural, as in we have way too many, but that’s another story for a different day…)

026

We have spun our tales throughout time in so many ways be it ghostly accounts around the campfire, hieroglyphics in ancient times, woven medieval tapestries, the songs of the bards, old wives tales, handwritten letters and journals. Whether it’s a gathering of children at the library for story time, friends regaling each other with their vacation adventures, or reading a bedtime story to a child…stories are what connect us to each other.

When my daughter was a wee girl, I began to read a fairytale to her that began with those magical words “Once upon a time.”  Just after I spoke that enchanted phrase, Catherine sighed and said “Mommy, I love those words ‘cause I know something good is going to happen.” Those four words hold such promise!  You know in your heart that you are about to hear something wondrous from the land of Story.

write-children-booksMy grandmother, Gigi would always find pictures in clouds and ask us (my sister and me) to create stories with them. I loved doing that and have continued that with my own children.

My favorite stories are those that happen over the course of a normal day when each of us craft our chapters by the simple act of making a meal, hugging a loved one, holding the hand of a friend in need, laughing at a funny joke. We are creating our book of life each and every day through our daily tasks, our interactions with each other and our creative pursuits.  We are the authors of our destinies.

Some of my best memories with my son (who is now 18!) are those where we curl up in our favorite spots and read (mine in a cozy chair with a warm beverage…his stretched out on the floor) …to me, that is pure bliss. We spent his entire childhood following the adventures of Harry Potter. I will be forever grateful to J.K. Rowling for sharing her storytelling with the world.  We’ve shared over a decade of wondrous storytelling in our family all thanks to her putting pen to paper and sharing the magical world of Hogwarts.

Many people are writing their stories on the web each day.  The Land of Blog is filled with amazing storytelling! I love connecting with fellow bloggers and following their journeys. I’ve added many “characters” in my own life story through the friendships I’ve made in this magical land. Facebook is actually a “short story” medium of sorts that help us stay connected through posts and photos. My FB time always reminds me of chatting with the neighbor “over the clothesline” or coffee time with friends except in this decade, we have our coffee with friends in front of a monitor (and we can stay in our pjs with no makeup if we choose.  Can I get a “heck yeah!?”  High fives all around!) Many think that these mediums are “dis-connecting” us and while that may be true in some ways, I can see where they are also giving us opportunities to re-connect with old friends, close the distance in miles and give us a place to share our joys and sorrows with family and friends. My blog, emails and Facebook are the reason I’ve been able to happily create a beautiful new love story in my own life. As crazy as it sounds, my British beau, Hugh and I have crafted our story from nearly 2,000 emails and over 17,000 Facebook messages between us over the last year! (and yes, he has traveled halfway across the world on 4 trips this year alone to make our story very interesting!)

I recently discovered that Catherine has been exploring my old blog “Bee and Rose.” She asked me if I could turn it into a book for her since so many family stories about her dad are in there. I will be doing just that for her this Christmas. I was deeply touched that she liked my writing. (insert humbled smile here please.) Stories inspire us, tug at our heartstrings, give us courage and make us look deeper.

How are you telling your story? We just watched the movie “Inkheart” (again) about the “Silver Tongues” those who can make characters come out of books by telling the story. I don’t want to give any spoilers, but it made me realize the power of the storyteller. Our story words read out loud can create life long memories.  One of my favorite storytelling moments came in September when Hugh read “Fox in Socks” from Dr. Seuss to me and Catherine.  His British accent made those silly rhymes give us fits of giggles. It is such a special memory to us that we are adding the Fox in Socks ornament to our Christmas tree this year:)  Don’t ever underestimate the power of the voice with storytelling.  It’s magical!

We create our stories with so much more than words. We write with our actions, our creations, and our expressions of love (hugs and cuddles are really awesome “words”.) Our homes are our sanctuary stories.  The colors we choose, the fabrics and textures in our furnishings and decor all weave together a story of our family history.  This is also true of family archiving and photographs.  One of the reasons I love scrapbooking so much is that it’s a wonderful way to share your captured moments in time with words and photos to create a very unique story experience.

I have a plaque that reads “Home is where your story begins” hanging in my office to remind me every day that I am writing my story through my words and actions. Each day I create a new chapter. What will it be today? Some days it’s a comedy of errors.  At times it feels like a mystery novel.  Lately I’ve been lucky to have a lovely international romance novel developing (wink wink!)  Of course, we have our tales of woe, bravery and adventure as well. We all have a story that deserves to be heard.  One of my favorite quotes that sums this up is from Doctor Who.  I love the simple truth in this…

68a2cce32ddfc9b67177553c0881b2b1
In closing, I would like to share a beautiful memory about Smitty and his dad. Every time, they would speak on a phone call, it would always start with these words…”What’s the story?” I always loved hearing them say that to each other. It always reminded me of that special moment at the beginning of bedtime storytelling, where you are all curled up and waiting for the magic to unfold.

So my friends, on my maiden post into the new world of Silver Lining Storyteller, I leave you with one question….

What’s your story?
xoxo
~dawn
p.s.  You can also find me on Facebook via https://www.facebook.com/pages/Silver-Lining-Storyteller/1461248314125049#
6 thoughts on “What’s Your Story?

  1. Stories…..so many memories. My grandfather was a wonderful story teller….after he lost his eye sight they became richer. Something I never thought possible. My grandmother had a ritual of letting her grandchildren choose a short story, usually from a plethora of Reader’s Digests she had.
    For my children, it started with Dr Seuss and continued first with Terry Pratchett and his Discworld series ( The Wee Free Men, being the first), and on to the Harry Potter series (English version only, I might add).
    Like you, I had those pat myself on the back moments when my children would ask me to read Wee Free Men with my Scottish accent (terrible as it was). The enjoyed the visual they had when they could envision little blue Scottish elves causing havoc in the world…..if you haven’t read the series I would encourage you to do so…I love your blogs and your fb messages. And I’m forever grateful to be your friend and seey our magic “stories” first hand….I’m impatiently waiting for more 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kathy ❤ Hugh just recently introduced me to Terry Pratchett (actually re-introduced…I read them a few decades ago.) I am excited to share them with my own kids too:) Thank you for mentioning the Reader's Digest! My grandma Gigi would do the same! I am beyond grateful for your friendship and so tickled to have you "write" stories alongside me:) (raises glass of cheer) Here's to many, more more!

      Like

Leave a Reply

